A Princess Diary (Entry 6)

Read Entry 5 here

Arah Abu 26

The Mistress of Singers awarded Khariss with the Private Room after what she did this morning’s chapel. The Alis attended today, the first time he has been in the city in months. I saw the tears on his face when she sang, and tonight we heard that me made a huge donation to the Cathedral! If there is one older man I would not mind marrying, it is the general. He’s even more exotic than those gorgeous traders from Ikibz! From what father says, he’s also a good man, the kind Khariss wants, so maybe she’ll get to marry him, but I know Bishop Abianes hates him. The Alis must really be a good person for the bishop to speak that way when the general is not around. A shame that this war has started, otherwise I am certain that he’d be here every day and maybe he might notice me as well.

Still, now that there is a real war, maybe we’ll get besieged, and soon we’ll be able to watch our knights leading sorties into the enemy and routing them! Wouldn’t that be glorious? Just like in the stories father used to read when I was young! I can’t imagine any army would last too long against us. Khariss cried a bit at the thought of the fighting, and I guess she’s right that some of our men might die, but really! I told her that we could go up one of the high towers and that maybe we could sing to the soldiers from way up above. Wouldn’t that be spectacular! They would be so inspired!

The Princess only wrote for a few more paragraphs, all about the glories of war, how likely she and Khariss were to be the saviors of the entire army, and how she might choose to take the knight who ‘vanquished’ the most enemies as a secret lover.

Read Entry 7 here

2 thoughts on “A Princess Diary (Entry 6)

Leave a comment